Norwegian Helsinki Committee and ILGA Europe call on Azerbaijan to investigate attacks on LGBT citizens » LGBT Azerbaijan Gay.Az
Norwegian Helsinki Committee and ILGA Europe call on Azerbaijan to investigate attacks on LGBT citizens
5 892 0

Norwegian Helsinki Committee and ILGA Europe call on Azerbaijan to investigate attacks on LGBT citizens

Азербайджан
The Norwegian Helsinki Committee and other prominent human rights organizations are calling for a proper investigation of hate crimes and the protection of the LGBTI + community in Azerbaijan.


In a recently released joint statement with ILGA Europe, Civil Rights Advocates and RFSL, the Norwegian Helsinki Committee calls on the Azerbaijani authorities to ensure the safety of all citizens, regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity or gender characteristics.

Since May 30, 2021, there have been credible reports of a series of attacks against LGBTI + persons in Baku, Azerbaijan. Attacks include physical violence, threats and harassment with explicit homophobic and transphobic intentions, including online hate speech. According to local human rights activists, ten hate incidents were reported to the police.

“Azerbaijan should take immediate measures to combat homophobic and transphobic violence to prevent the escalation of violence and hate crimes,” says Mina Skowen, Senior Advisor on Equal Rights and Non-Discrimination to the Norwegian Helsinki Committee.

“We also call on the Azerbaijani authorities to take the necessary precautions to ensure the safety of the LGBTI + community as a whole.

The human rights situation of LGBTI + people in Azerbaijan has been a source of serious concern for many years. Attacks, arbitrary arrests and intimidation of human rights defenders are reported annually. In 2017 and 2019, there were well-documented reports of arbitrary arrests and ill-treatment of LGBTI + people by the police.

ILGA-Europe Annual Review reports for Azerbaijan indicate a high level of homophobic and transphobic speech and hate crimes, as well as a lack of government response to such incidents.

The reports of attacks on LGBTI + persons in late May and early June of this year were perpetrated by private individuals and occurred in public and private places.

Although the recent incidents were reported to the police, no investigation was initiated. Activists report that one victim was unable to receive a forensic summons from the prosecutor. In another case, the victim says that she was denied medical care by two hospitals. In the third case, the victim reported the harassment after attempting to file a report with the police.

As a party to the European Convention on Human Rights, Azerbaijan is obliged to ensure the right to life and security for all citizens (article 2), respect for private and family life (article 8), as well as equal treatment and non-discrimination (article 14).

In a recently released statement, international organizations confirm their intention to monitor the overall situation with respect to the rights of LGBTI + people in Azerbaijan.

Due to lack of funding, the article was translated by google translator. Gay.Az editors apologize for the inconvenience*
Gay.Az/Salam.gay/nhc.no
25
2
04.09.2021

reload, if the code cannot be seen
(0)
:

Норвежский Хельсинкский комитет и ILGA Europe призывает Азербайджан расследовать нападения на ЛГБТ граждан » LGBT Azerbaijan Gay.Az
Норвежский Хельсинкский комитет  и ILGA Europe призывает Азербайджан расследовать нападения на ЛГБТ граждан
6 063 0

Норвежский Хельсинкский комитет и ILGA Europe призывает Азербайджан расследовать нападения на ЛГБТ граждан

Азербайджан
В закладки
Норвежский Хельсинкский комитет и другие известные правозащитные организации призывают к надлежащему расследованию преступлений на почве ненависти и защите сообщества ЛГБТИ+ в Азербайджане.


В опубликованном недавно совместном заявлении с ILGA Europe, Защитниками гражданских прав и RFSL Норвежский Хельсинкский комитет призывает власти Азербайджана обеспечить безопасность всех граждан, независимо от сексуальной ориентации, гендерной идентичности или гендерных характеристик.


С 30 мая 2021 года поступают достоверные сообщения о серии нападений на ЛГБТИ + лиц в Баку, Азербайджан. Атаки включают физическое насилие, угрозы и домогательства с явными гомофобными и трансфобными намерениями, включая высказывания ненависти в Интернете. По словам местных правозащитников, в полицию было сообщено о десяти инцидентах на почве ненависти.

- Азербайджану следует принять немедленные меры по борьбе с гомофобным и трансфобным насилием, чтобы предотвратить эскалацию насилия и преступлений на почве ненависти, - говорит Мина Скоуэн, старший советник по вопросам равных прав и недискриминации Норвежского Хельсинкского комитета.

- Мы также призываем власти Азербайджана принять необходимые меры предосторожности для обеспечения безопасности ЛГБТИ + сообщества в целом.


Ситуация с правами человека ЛГБТИ + в Азербайджане уже много лет вызывает серьезную озабоченность. Ежегодно появляются сообщения о нападениях, произвольных арестах и запугивании правозащитников. В 2017 и 2019 годах поступали хорошо задокументированные сообщения о произвольных арестах и жестоком обращении с представителями ЛГБТИ + со стороны полиции.

Отчеты ILGA-Europe Annual Review по Азербайджану указывают на высокий уровень гомофобных и трансфобных высказываний и преступлений на почве ненависти, а также на отсутствие реакции властей на такие инциденты.

Сообщения о нападениях на ЛГБТИ + лиц в конце мая - начале июня этого года были совершены частными лицами и произошли в общественных и частных местах.


Хотя о недавних инцидентах было сообщено в полицию, расследование не было начато. Активисты сообщают, что одна потерпевшая не смогла получить повестку на судебно-медицинскую экспертизу от прокурора. В другом случае потерпевшая говорит, что ей отказали в медицинской помощи две больницы. В третьем случае жертва сообщила о преследовании после попытки подать заявление в полицию.

Как участник Европейской конвенции о правах человека - Азербайджан обязан обеспечивать право на жизнь и безопасность для всех граждан (статья 2), уважение частной и семейной жизни (статья 8), а также равное обращение и недискриминацию ( статья 14).

В опубликованном недавно заявлении международные организации подтверждают намерение отслеживать общую ситуацию в области соблюдения прав ЛГБТИ + людей в Азербайджане.

Gay.Az/Salam.gay/nhc.no

27
2
04.09.2021
Прокомментировать

Прокомментировать
Кликните на изображение чтобы обновить код, если он неразборчив
Комментарии (0)
Войти через:
Регистрируясь, вы соглашаетесь сусловиями пользовательского соглашения